Book Reviews, thedailyam

Book Review: The Curious Incident of The Dog in The Nighttime

The-Curious-IncidentOk, so where do I start? First of all this book was very well-written. Mark Haddon did a really good job writing in this young boy with autism’s point of view. I constantly had a kid’s voice in my head narrating it for me.

I am sure that some people might find Christopher a tad bit annoying because he is a kid who fails to connect many things, overreacts and has a very unique way of seeing things. He will try to find the logical aspect of everything, refusing to believe in any magic, mystery or greater power. I believe that is a part of his condition but mind me I am somewhat ignorant when it comes to autism.

While I can’t really blame Christopher for the things that annoyed me in him, because honestly I wasn’t bothered at all by the boy, I really need to take a moment and wonder who the fuck gives a knife to a kid who can’t control himself whenever someone touches him. He immediately reaches for it without thinking. Christopher has many episodes and although some might say a Swiss Army Knife won’t do much damage it still might hurt someone and put him to unnecessary trouble.

Let’s talk about his parents for a moment here. I can only imagine how hard it is to have a child with a disability or illness, but the shit you two have between each other should be kept as far away from him as possible. They were both in the wrong, but I loved to see them try to make it right for themselves and for him.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Curious Incident of The Dog in The Nighttime”

  1. I had honestly no plans of reading this but I thoroughly enjoyed your review 😊
    You say you have no true understanding of autism but you absolutely do! You just empathized with the main character and realized how others may misunderstand him.
    Lovely review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

