Book Tags, thedailyam

Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Hello from the long-lost author of this blog. Author, haha. Riiight. 

Finally the days where I can focus on reading and blogging are approaching. They’re not here yet, but soon hopefully… unless something better comes along but to be honest I don’t have big plans for the summer. Just take it as it comes.

Anyway, I’ve seen this tag circle around the internet for a while now and I think in order to check how I am doing with my reading, I decided to do it. The name is not a favorite because come on, who’d freak out and more importantly, why would they?

Let’s start with the questions now. I babbled more than needed. Is it called babbled when you’re writing though?

  • Best book you’ve read so far in 2017?

Jezebel by Irene Nemirovski. This book could do better with the writing but the story was very intriguing and enjoyable. I gave it 5 stars, which I don’t normally do, but considering the other books I’ve read, how low their ratings were and how different in comparison with this one they were I decided to just go for it. So 5 stars it is!

  • Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017?

I’m going to go with Crown Of Midnight by Sarah J Maas. Now this book had its problems, the main one being the awful phrase repetitions because of which I couldn’t help rolling my eyes but it was much better than the first one. And it was the only sequel between two others that I’ve read this year so yeah…

  • New release you haven’t read yet, but you want to?

Always and Forever Lara Jean by Jenny Han. I did not plan to read this at all because what else will she give to this story? Wasn’t it enough with the two first books? Can’t we ever have stand-alones or duologies? Enough with the trilogies for fuck’s sake. Anyway, I deviated a bit from the topic. I tend to do that occasionally, but I heard great things about this books. I heard there was a very pleasant growth in the characters and I don’t wanna miss it.

  • Most anticipated release for the second half of the year?

None. I don’t really follow the new releases lists and stuff.

  • Biggest disappointment?

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. This was one of my biggest disappointments in years. I expected magic and got a boring slow book in which literally nothing happened. There was a point where I thought it was getting better but sadly it was all just an illusion. Maybe I’ll retry one day and it’ll go better but for now… NOPE.

  • Biggest surprise?

Everyone Worth Knowing by Lauren Weisberger. Ever since I tried The Devil Wears Prada and fell asleep because of boredom I put these two books in a dark corner of my shelf and said to them NEVER AGAIN. But honestly never is not a word you should say in this cases because as the new year approached I decided to give this a try, approximately 5 years later, and it was good. This book was an enjoyable story with an annoying character that had messed up priorities, with whom I couldn’t relate at all but still much better than expected. A real surprise!

  • Favorite new author?

Unfortunately none.

  • Newest fictional crush?

None so far.

  • Newest favorite character?

Sherlock Holmes. I know it’s crazy it took me so long to read these books, but the good thing is I finally did. They are really predictable at times and to be honest if I met Sherlock he’d annoy the shit out of me, but as a character he is really interesting.

  • Book that made you cry?

I haven’t really cried because of any book this year but I might have gotten a little emotional with Swallows of Kabul by Yasmina Khadra. It’s the truth universally acknowledged that I, the AM, will probably cry or at least tear up a bit if a book deals with abuse towards women.

  • Book that made you happy?

None really made me happy but I reread Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi and the news of its continuation made me excited.

  • Favorite book to movie adaptation you saw this year?

I haven’t seen any movies this year, other than Beauty and The Beast.

  • What books do you want to read by the end of the year?

I want to read as many books I have on my TBR as possible because they’re honestly too much and when I think of the money I’ve spent on it I get super mad. Like, read your damn books girl before you go and buy others.

Oh, wow. This took me too long to write.


As of my Goodreads Reading Challenge– It’s not going as well as I was hoping but that’s because this month I have prioritized studying above anything else… or so I like to say. Right now I am 4 books behind, with 20 books read out of 50.

So that’s all for now.

AM

 

6 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag”

    1. I have only read the first three books of the TOG series and COM is my favorite, but I still have high hopes for the rest.

      Ah, I would have probably gotten it by now weren’t it for the fact that I am in a year- long buying ban. *insert sad music here* haha!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

