thedailyam

Book Review: Everyone Worth Knowing ⭐️⭐️

General Information29547

Title: Everyone Worth Knowing 

Author: Lauren Weisberger

Publication Date: December 26th, 2006

Length: 448 pages

Genre: Chick-lit, Contemporary

Summary

What happens when a girl on the fringe enters the realm of New York’s chic, party-hopping elite?

Soon after Bette Robinson quits her horrendous Manhattan banking job like the impulsive girl she’s never been, the novelty of walking her four-pound dog around the unglamorous Murray Hill neighborhood wears as thin as the “What are you going to do with your life?” phone calls from her parents. Then Bette meets Kelly, head of Manhattan’s hottest PR firm, and suddenly she has a brand-new job where the primary requirement is to see and be seen inside the VIP rooms of the city’s most exclusive nightclubs. But when Bette begins appearing in a vicious new gossip column, she realizes that the line between her personal life and her professional life is…invisible.

Opinon

Everyone Worth Knowing is a book which has been lying in a corner of my shelves for many years. My bad experience with Devil Wears Prada and the uninteresting synopsis made me have little to no interest in reading it.

It was only January when I saw my huge TBR pile that was growing in a scary way that I decided to take some great measures such as: make a TBR jar, start reading some books that have been collecting dust in my shelves for years, and be super picky when buying new ones.

This book was one of them.

And what can I say about it? It was not boring, but also lacked excitement and life (somewhere in between). The characters were dull and had such a low self-esteem that was making me doubt if I was feeling anger or pity for them. Our main character let herself be used and manipulated, failed to stand up for herself or even divide her private life from her public one by at least 1%. I know it is hard and I am guilty myself for not paying as much attention to my friends as I probably should due to school and everything else; but you don’t just forget your uncle’s birthday and not remember it until he reminds you weeks later. And let me just add that he was also her best friend and one of her biggest supporters.

After putting it back in the shelf I asked myself- what was its plot? Because after trying (and failing) to let us wonder what was going on with Philip, thing that was supposedly a very important part of this book, the author doesn’t give us nothing on what happened next with the guy, were there consequences of that “confession”. If nothing would be said about this matter if it ever came to light then why would Philip bother to do all of that theater play?

All in all, it was not bad. It felt like watching a movie you usually watch when there’s nothing else on TV. You know what’s going to happen, you are very meh about it but you want to see them make it to the end.

I would not recommend it, unless you loved The Devil Wears Prada since the atmosphere feels the same.

Let’s Chat

Have you read this book? If yes, what is your opinion on it?

Leave a Reply

