Book Reviews

Book Review: Throne of Glass ⭐️⭐️⭐️

General Information

Title: Throne of Glass

Author: Sarah J Maas

Series: Throne of Glass

Release Date: May 7th, 2013

Length: 404 pages

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

23599075Summary

When magic has gone from the world, and a vicious king rules from his throne of glass, an assassin comes to the castle. She does not come to kill, but to win her freedom. If she can defeat twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition to find the greatest assassin in the land, she will become the King’s Champion and be released from prison.

Opinion

I have read and really enjoyed the ACOTAR books. While looking forward to the finale of that series, having heard so many great things about this one I decided to give it a try.

Throne of Glass is written in third person and the prespective shifts from one character to another. The book presents us with a world that has a lot of potential. 

It sparked my interest and made me think about it, theorize and look at fanart but it still took me a lot of time to finish. I was promised a badass assassin but unfortunately for most of the book she was all talk. It was really annoying how in every page for five or six chapters she would babble on and on how foolish it was for the guards to do this and that in her presence when in my opinion she was nothing but an ordinary person, with no fearsome abilities whatsoever. It started picking up in the middle though, when little by little Caelena gave us glimpses of what made her Adarlan’s Assassin. 

The character presentation in the first chapter was very similar to how we got to know Juliet, Adam and Warner in Shatter Me by Taheren Mafi. Deadly prisoner meets intriguing ruler, while accompanied by a strong guard. 

I enjoyed the relationship between two of our characters and their break up explanation made no fucking sense. Like what does that have to do with anything? 

There were a couple of cliches like characters blushing. Stop that man! An assassin blushing. Who would’ve thought? On the other hand, this book mentioned periods and the pain some woman experience during that time of the month. It was a plus in my opinion. 

So yes, I expected so much more but either way I will continue the series as I see how it could get better in the next books. 

 Characters 

Caelena Sardothien: she was a great character for most part. I loved her talkative side and how she had a high self-esteem. Caelena knew how beautiful she was and how to play with that fact. She was not our typical introverted oh-so-ugly-but-actually-every-hot-dude-falls-for book nerd. Instead this one was a girl who loved parties, books and beautiful dresses because yes, you can do that all. 

Dorian Havillard: one of the most intriguing, amusing characters this book had. I truly loved him! He was kind-hearted, sweet and tried to stand up for his beliefs despite his kinda shy personality. 

Chaol Westfall: my boy Chaol here got on my nerves since he was first introduced but as the story progresses so did he and by the end of the book I did not really mind him that much. 

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Throne of Glass ⭐️⭐️⭐️”

      1. I’ve not seen much of the fan art but I love the darkness in Sarah J Mass’ female characters, and the way she twists stories in so may directions. It’s something I try to do in my own writing though I’m probably not as adept at it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

