Book Reviews, Reviews, thedailyam

Book Review: My Lady Jane ⭐️⭐️⭐️

26795352General Information

Title: My Lady Jane (Duh!)

Author: Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, Jodi Meadows

Series: The Lady Janies

Release Date: June 7th, 2016

Length: 494 pages

Genre: Historical Fiction, Fantasy, Young Adult.

Summary

Edward, the king of England, is dying at the young age of sixteen and he much rather be planning his first kiss than finding the one right person to inherit the kingdom.

Jane Grey, Edward’s cousin, is far more interested in books than romance so it was unfortunate for her to find out the King had arranged her marriage to a horse.

Yes, her future husband Gifford Dudley, whom we should call G because reasons, transforms into a horse at dawn and back to human again when night falls. That’s because he’s an Eðian, humans who can literally turn into animals and back.

With all that being said the plot thickens as Edward, Jane and G are drawn into a dangerous conspiracy. With the fate of the kingdom at stake, our heroes will have to engage in some conspiring of their own. But can they pull off their plan before it’s off with their heads?

Opinion

What was I thinking? I should have known just by reading the summary that I would be thinking what the fuck a lot because what the fuck?

I am not saying the book was stupid and/or bad, but it was seriously annoying at times. Some scenes dragged and some went too fast so it felt like 500 pages were too much for the story.

There was really no villain here. I mean she supposedly was but I just couldn’t feel it. Despite loving this period of English history, I also loved the twist the authors gave it.

The characters

Jane Grey:  She is a bookworm. Great, right? NOT. It feels so forced and over the top that I could not help rolling my eyes. She’s also so pretentious and believes herself higher than all. Two of the moments she annoyed me the most:

  1. She told her Eðian husband that she knew more about them that he ever did. Yeah, okay girl.
  2. And saying that the throne did not belong to Mary. If it doesn’t belong to Mary, being the eldest child of Henry, then I don’t know to whom it can belong. That’s how the succession lines go Jane. By being such a smart pants I thought you knew that already. Now go back in line!

That being said, I also liked some aspects of her. Trying to go in the middle of a wolf pack to help someone might be very dumb considering you got no power to scare them but it also shows courage and a good heart. She was also loyal and did not allow herself to be used as a pawn easily.

Gifford Dudley: I am not calling him G. It feels slightly stupid writing it here although I’d probably call him that in person. So our boy Gifford annoyed the shit out of me when he refused to try control his power, but other than that I had no issues with him.

Edward Tudor: This poor excuse of a character. The guy was whiny, helpless and boring.

Notes

I have started taking notes on my books by using some colorful stickers. My Lady Jane only has four stickers.

1. Orange. G turned toward Edward and bowed. “It’s been a pleasure, Sire, but this is where I leave you.” He was jesting only in part.
“What about your talk of courage?”

“Fiction, Your Majesty.”

This is where Gifford won me. And the only part that made me truly giggle.

2. Pink. Queen Catherine was shooting daggers at him with her eyes, but he forced himself to concentrate on the French King.

I’ve been shooting daggers at you as well every time you’ve opened that patriarchal mouth Eddie.

3. Yellow. “Mary doesn’t know you’re alive, Edward.”

You have been cheerfully walking on the roads of two countries. There are spies everywhere and you want me to believe she doesn’t know. Them spies were faster than our cellphones back then.

4. Yellow. “You don’t still need me here, do you?” Edward asked Bess as he pulled his shirt over his head.

What would she need you for? The woman saved your ass so many times I lost count. Plus, she’s Elizabeth. Move along.

Let’s talk

Have you read this book? And if so, what are your thoughts about it? Share your links with me if you have already written a review on it.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: My Lady Jane ⭐️⭐️⭐️”

  1. I read My Lady Jane and I thought it was hilarious! One of the funniest things I’ve ever read. My advice would be to avoid taking anything said in the novel serious. With that in mind, I laughed so hard I cried giant tears ahaha
    We’ve got the review of it on the blog but I’m honestly too lazy to look it up right now. Almost 1 AM and I gotta get up at 6 AM tomorrow ughhhhh

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right! Maybe I took it too seriously. I mean the amount of times I wanted to kick Edward’s ass was too high, lol. I’ll be trying to find your review!

      Good night! 🌙

      Like

Leave a Reply

