Reviews, thedailyam

Book review: Three Dark Crowns ⭐️⭐️⭐️

“Three dark queens
Are born in a glen,
Sweet little triplets
Will never be friends

Three dark sisters
All fair to be seen,
Two to devour
And one to be Queen”

three-dark-crowns
I have the last one from these covers, my favorite is the second but by heart I’d go with the third, lol. Anyway, this book was a gift from my first secret santa ever, Sara N. ❤

Summary

Every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born: three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella, an elemental. Katharine, a poisoner. Arsinoe, a naturalist. But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it to the death and the last queen standing gets the crown, but unfortunately it isn’t that easy because Katharine can’t handle a single poison, Arsinoe can’t bloom a single rose and Mirabella can never imagine of killing her sisters.

Opinion

The premise of the book was amazing, but sadly it fell flat. We were supposed to get three 16-year-old girls who are ruthless but instead we get three girls who are used as nothing but some stupid pawns. They are fucking queens but they get mistreated to the point where I want to jump into the book and beat the shit of all of these stupid characters. It was kind of boring at times and I hardly cared about some of them; like Jules, Joseph or Katharine. I am rooting for Mirabella so far. She deserves the throne.

We were given many hints so the ending was not really a surprise to me. I am going to avoid giving more details because even though I don’t mind spoilers at all but I know many people do so I am not risking ruining someone’s day. The ending made this book seem like a way too long prologue to what is coming next and to be honest I’m eager to know.

Will I continue the series? Yes.

Will I recommend it to anyone? No.

4 thoughts on “Book review: Three Dark Crowns ⭐️⭐️⭐️”

  1. Ah I know what you mean about the covers- the second one is the best. But the fourth one is very cool too!! haha I love that you’re gonna continue this series, but wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. I still haven’t read this, though I have a copy lying around, so I guess I will at some point, but I’m not gonna get my hopes up about it cos I’ve heard similar things about it around! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

