thedailyam

t5w: books with “hard” topics

A week has passed and now it’s time for yet another Wednesday Topic. This one is about the top five books that have the most difficult topics I have read so far such as mental health, sexual assault, illness, etc.. Although I read hard books, I need some time to get myself to do that because I am afraid of what to expect.

This is an Albanian book so you probably have never heard of it. It’s about a girl whose mother dies leaving them in poverty with a wounded father who starts drinking heavily and two younger siblings. The girl is just a teenager and she is left to do everything on her own; to be the mother and father to both her sibling and her dad.

I have read this back in fourth grade and the teacher was a little shocked. Not sure why, maybe it wasn’t considered appropriate for my age or something but since my family never believe in book prohibition I never got affected by this age-things.

This book is heartbreaking. A Thousand Splendid Suns talks about women treatment in Afghanistan pre, during and post war. It’s raw, real, honest and touches many problems such as illegitimate children (which is a term I personally despise), child marriages, polygamy, etc.. It’s a must read.

This book is thought to be a biography of one of the Saudi Royal Family’s princesses. Its topic is again about the miserable treatment of women, their lack of freedom and choice, arranged marriages, oppression in basic things.

Set in the harsh Puritan community of seventeenth-century Boston, this book tells the tale of a woman who gives birth to an illegitimate child and is publicly disgraced. Now I understand that this is set in a time and date when having a child like that was unimaginable, although it happened a lot, but still reading about her life was sad and painful.

Yet another Albanian book. In English that would be 14 Year Old Groom. The Author is one of the few Albanian Authors who has spoken against the poor treatment of women in the country. This book talks about a middle-aged couple who want to marry their young son to an older woman, so that she does the chores around the house. So even though this is considered a comedy the topics are very important; child marriage and bride selling.

So, here are my books for the week. Have you read any of them or wrote your own post? If so, please let me know in the comments. 

 

 

2 thoughts on “t5w: books with “hard” topics”

  1. I have read A Thousand Splendid Suns and yes it fits into today’s T5W. On my T5W of hard topics I also had The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. I haven’t read any of the other books in your list though.

    Like

  2. I read A thousand Splendid Suns and I couldn’t agree more with you, that it’s an amazing book.
    And the last one on your list sounds really interesting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

