Manga Reviews, Reviews, thedailyam

Review: My Japanese Husband Thinks I’m Crazy ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

My Japanese Husband Thinks I’m Crazy is a comic book written by an American girl married and living in Japan. Through simple comics she shows us pieces of her daily life with better half, as she states, Ryosuke.

23311285TITLE: I’ve seen that there have been a lot of negative reviews on Goodreads for this book because it has a very racist title according to them. I know for some people it may sound offensive for Grace to specify that her husband is Japanese. (One of the reviewers wrote that my husband is my husband and I don’t specify where he comes from.) Personally I believe the title says Japanese only to show us that they’re an intercultural couple. But yet again, I’m not a native English speaker so I might be missing something here.

COVER: I like the cover. It is simple and gives us a good glimpse of what’s inside the book, as well as what her drawing style is.

PLOT: The book doesn’t follow a specific story. It gives us short stories from daily events rather than focus on a main idea. It’s enjoyable and very informative.

CHARACTERS: Grace is talkative, curious and doesn’t seem afraid to try new things. I like how she asks all those questions about all kinds of random things. Ryosuke is also an amazing person. Having such joyous people around is great! He sounds very honest, funny and supportive.

Positive points: 

  1. Japan
  2. Intercultural couple
  3. New information about the culture, language and life in general. The recyclation information, for example, was super interesting.
  4. Ryosuke’s opening foreword. 

Negative points:

  1. Although I liked the short chapters, I would have loved for them to be longer because they’re fun to read.
  2. Drawing can get better.

I recommend this book to people who want to see tiny bits of life in Japan, especially for an intercultural couple. It’s entertaining.

2 thoughts on “Review: My Japanese Husband Thinks I’m Crazy ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️”

  1. This is my favourite comic book! I loved it, I really love Japan so I found a way to learn things about Japan by reading this book.
    Your review is great, I totally agree with everything you’ve written in this post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad to hear that you liked my review. Have you read the rest of the series? If so, I’d appreciate it if you’d tell me how they are in comparision to this.

      Thank you for the comment James. Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

