Book Tags, thedailyam

Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

I have been watching this tag around forever now, but never found the opinions given very unpopular. Same as mine, of course. The community of bookreaders is huge so chances are you’ll find a lot of other people feeling the same as you. Anyway.

thedailyam©
This little boy is in almost all of my bookshelves’ photos. Maybe I should name him.
  • A popular book or series that you didn’t like?

Harry Potter Series: I have to be completely honest and tell you that I have only read the first two books in this series and have no interest whatsoever to keep reading. It’s just not my cup of tea. Its fans always attack me though. Guys, you’re the winning team! So calm down and keep reading. 

Magonia: The beginning was ok. I was enjoying the story and was touched in few parts. Then after page 100 it started going downhill and I lost my interest completely. I seriously couldn’t stand all the “screamsinging”, “singsaying” and “singing into each other’s lungs”. Like really?! The concept of Magonia was so amazing but destroyed completely in this book.

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children: I read this book before all the hype exploded and rolled my eyes way to many times. The same problem that I had with Magonia, a great idea that went downhills.

If I Stay: Too much useless information. Never seen a book with so many flashbacks before. It had no point.

The Fault In Our Stars: So unrealistic. This book was trying very hard.

  • A popular book or series that everyone seems to hate but you like?

Before I fall: It’s well-written. I like how the characters are all connected with each other and every action brings a consequence.

The Selection: An easy and light read. Not high in sugar, hence why I liked it. 

Twilight: When this book first came out everybody was loving it, then it became “cool” to hate on it. Despite all the flaws, Twilight introduced a lot of people to the world of reading and is entertaining.

  • A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you didn’t want them to end up with or an OTP that you don’t like?

I’m not a shipper so this question is a bit difficult to answer. I’ll have to go with Tobias Eaton and Beatrice Prior (Divergent-simply because they seem to stop each other from being themselves), also Feyre and Tamlin (A Court of Thorns and Roses– because she would make a better couple with the other character that I won’t name due to spoilers)

  • A popular book genre that you hardly reach for?

Fantasy with angels, werewolves, vampires. Not my cup of tea!

  • A popular or beloved character that you don’t like?

Augustus (TFIOS), Gale (The Hunger Games), Adam (Shatter Me), Four (Divergent). Boring, annoying, self-centered, blind to other people’s needs and likes.

  • A popular author that you can’t seem to get into?

John Green. I’ve tried my best. We were not meant to be.

  • A popular book trope that you are tired of seeing?

Hmm… I don’t know how to call this, but I seriously hate when the main character is interested in a guy and can’t control herself around him, blushes waaay too much, doesn’t know she’s holding a breath and all this… crap.

  • A popular series that you have no interest in reading?

The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices and the rest of Harry Potter.

  • The saying goes “the book is always better than the movie” but which movie was better than its book?

Mockingjay is full of emotions, especially part one. I loved every single moment of it.

Also, Anna Karenina is amazing. So beautifully made with a great cast of actors.

_____________

Agree or disagree with my choices? Let me know which is one book you always get hate for not liking enough.

Since lately I haven’t read a lot or done anything interesting to share I decided to do a few tags here and there. Bear with me, please! Haha!

9 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag”

  1. I read the first three or four Harry Potter books and although I particularly liked the second book, I wasn’t interested in continuing the series. Plus, the books gradually became almost as thick as a dictionary.

    I didn’t like ‘If I Stay’. The frequent transition between the past and present wasn’t smooth. I found the characters to be boring and too good to be true.

    As for Twilight, I read it before it became popular. I have to admit that the first book was entertaining despite being predictable and ridiculous but I can’t say the same for the second and third books.

    Regards,
    Elusive

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can’t agree more Elusive! Your simile about the Harry Potter books made me laugh. They seriously are as thick as my English-Alb dictionary now that I think about it.

      Thank you for your valuable opinions! Look forward to hearing more from you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great post! I’ve seen this tag around for ages too and always thought it was brilliant.
    I’m always on the fence about Harry Potter to be honest- I loved it when I was 7, went off it when I was 10 (my favourite character died in book 5 and I thought that one was the weakest in the series). After that I just felt like I was too old for it for the rest of the series and went years not being crazy about it (and being criticised for that). I have a lot of nostalgia about the series now and am somewhere slap bang in the middle now.
    I really didn’t like If I Stay or TFIOS (way too obvious and pretentious!)
    I like Before I Fall too- but I didn’t know other people didn’t! I get you about Twilight- I quite enjoyed the first one when I read it, but honestly felt the story should’ve ended with book 1- I progressively hated the series as it went on- even though I was addicted to it.
    Ahh fantasy with angels, werewolves or vamps are usually terrible- though there are exceptions!
    Yep- I can’t get into John Green either.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad to see someone else who feels the same way about some of the books mentioned in the post, especially Harry Potter and Twilight. I don’t get why we have to be criticised for our taste in books. That’s the magic of the reading world.

      Yes, people seem to hate on Before I Fall without even reading it because of The Delirium Series, which is a bit of a shame.

      Thank you for your comment. I hope you consider doing this one day. Would love to read more.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I totally get it. I was criticised for years for my opinions on Harry Potter (many of those opinions I still hold) and it used to drive me mad that so many people took it personally that I didn’t agree with them. It’s so silly, cos if someone disagrees with me about a book I love, I won’t be fussed about it.
        Yeah exactly 🙂 That is a shame.
        You’re very welcome 🙂 I definitely hope I do it at some point 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

